Skip to main content


Jeffrey B. Driban, PhD, ATC, CSCS

Chair, OAAA Steering Committee
Representative of the National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA) and the Athletic Trainers’ OA Consortium (ATOAC)

Sarah Shultz, PhD, ATC

Vice Chair, OAAA Steering Committee
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Kinesiology, Seattle University


Lead Partner Organizations

American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM)

Ty Wadsworth, MD, FAMSSM
Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine, Saint Louis University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO; Medical Director, Athletic Training Education Program, Department of Physical Therapy and Athletic Training, Doisy College of Health Sciences, Saint Louis University, St. Louis, MO; Medical Director, Sundance Clinical Research, LLC, St. Louis, MO; Attending Physician, St. Louis Medical Clinic, St. Louis, MO

Arthritis Foundation

Nick Turkas
AF Director of Help & Support

Association of Rheumatology Professionals (ARP)

TBN – ARP Executive Committee will appoint.

Osteoarthritis Research Society International (OARSI)

Professor Ali Mobasheri, BSc, ARCS, MSc, DPhil (Oxon)
Professor of Musculoskeletal Biology, Research Unit of Medical Imaging, Physics and Technology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland

United States Bone and Joint Initiative (USBJI)

TBN – USBJI Executive Committee will appoint.


Members at Large

Cheryl der Ananian, PhD, MS
Associate Professor, Exercise Science and Health Promotion Program, College of Health Solutions, Arizona State University

Penney Cowan
Founder & CEO, American Chronic Pain Association

Connie B. Newman, MD, FACP, FAHA, FAMWA
Adjunct Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
NYU School of Medicine President
American Medical Womens’ Association

Dan Pinto, PT, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Therapy, Marquette University

Beth Richards
Missouri Arthritis and Osteoporosis Program, University of Missouri

Matthew Lee Smith, PhD, MPH, CHES, FGSA, FAAHB
Center for Population Health and Aging, Texas A&M University

Willis Steele, M.Div
Movement Is Life Executive Steering Committee
Advocacy Relations, Government Affairs, Intercontinental Region—Latin America, Canada, Turkey, Middle East, Africa, Amgen, Inc.

Tina H. Thornhill, PharmD, FASCP, BCGP
Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Vice Chair of Experiential & Professional Education
Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Department of Pharmacy Practice

Heather K. Vincent, PhD, FACSM
University Term Professor & Associate Professor Director
UF Health Sports Performance Center Director
UF Human Dynamics Laboratory
UF Health Orthopaedics
Sports Medicine Institute, University of Florida

Mike Walsh
Executive Director, Alliance for Balanced Pain Management

Monette Williams
Owner Triangle Multisport
NASM Certified Personal Trainer
USA Triathlon Level II, Youth and Junior Coach
Endurance Coordinator and Personal Trainer at UNC Wellness Centers


Past Chair

Laura L. Payne, PhD
Representative of National Recreation and Park Association
Professor/Director of Graduate Studies; Department of Recreation, Sport and Tourism; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign