Skip to main content
Osteoarthritis Prevention & Management in Primary Care

Stakeholders and Acknowledgements

The Osteoarthritis Prevention & Management in Primary Care Toolkit was funded, in part, by a Pfizer Independent Grant for Learning and Change and by a cooperative agreement from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Toolkit contents are solely the responsibility of the Osteoarthritis Action Alliance and acknowledged Stakeholders and are based on best evidence and best practices in medicine. The OAAA expresses appreciation to U.S. Bone & Joint Initiative for their partnership in developing the Toolkit and to the field of experts comprising the Stakeholder panel for their many contributions, including content selection and development, formatting guidance and dissemination.

The OAAA would like to recognize the following individuals for their authorship on one or more of the Toolkit modules: Leigh Callahan, PhD; Jeffrey Driban, PhD, ATC, CSCS; Yvonne M. Golightly, PT, MS, PhD; Amanda E. Nelson, MD, MSCR, RhMSUS; Tina Thornhill, PharmD, FASCP, BCGP; Thomas Trojian, MD, FACSM, CAQSM; and OAAA staff.  UNC-Chapel Hill physicians, Thomas M. Miller, MD, and Shawn Kane, MD, FAAFP, FACSM, provided valuable clinical insights and content recommendations.

The complete list of Stakeholders and contributors is below.

Partner Organization
United States Bone and Joint Initiative (USBJI)Toby King, CAE
Executive Director, USBJI

Marc Hochberg, MD, MPH, MACP, MACR
Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology and Public Health
Head, Division of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology
Vice Chair, Department of Medicine
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Director, Medical Care Clinical Center
Veterans Affairs Maryland Health Care System
Immediate Past President, U.S. Bone and Joint Initiative
Stakeholder Organizations
American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)Anne Norman, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, FAANP
Vice President of Education and Accreditation, AANP
American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA)Daniel Pace, CHCP
Vice President, Education and Research & Chief Strategy Officer, AAPA
American Chronic Pain Association (ACPA)
Penney Cowan
Founder & Executive Director, ACPA
OAAA Workgroup Member
American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)James R. Whitehead
Former CEO, ACSM
American Council on Exercise (ACE)Cedric X. Bryant, PhD
President and Chief Science Officer, ACE

Sabrena Jo, MS
Director of Science and Research, ACE
OAAA Workgroup Member
American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM)Jim Griffith, MBA, CAE
Executive Director, AMSSM

Thomas Trojian, MD, FACSM, CAQSM
Professor, Drexel College of Medicine
Chief, Division of Sports Medicine
Chief Medical Officer, Drexel Athletics

Stephanie Kliethermes, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Anthony Beutler, MD
Associate Medical Director & Fellowship Director, Sports Medicine- Intermountain Healthcare, Utah
American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)Anita Bemis-Dougherty, PT, DPT, MAS
Vice President, Practice, APTA
Association of Rheumatology Professionals (ARP)Janet L. Poole, PhD, OTR/L
2020 ARP President
Professor and Director, Occupatonal Therapy Graduate Program, University of New Mexico

Hazel Breland, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, CLA
Immediate Past President
Associate Professor, Division of Occupational Therapy, Medical University of South Carolina

Tami Brehm, CAE
Executive Director, ARP

ARP Volunteer Reviewers
Neil Moody, PA-C; Jessica Gehin, MS, BSN, RN; Yomei Shaw, PhD Candidate/Health Services Research; Elizabeth Reardon, MSN, NP-C
National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA)Jeffrey Driban, PhD, ATC, CSCS
Associate Professor, Division of Rheumatology, Allergy, and Immunology; Tufts Medical Center
OAAA Workgroup member
Primary Care Providers & Other OA Experts
Family MedicineShawn Kane, MD, FAAFP, FACSM
Associate Professor of Medicine, Department of Family Medicine, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Internal MedicineThomas M. Miller, MD
Professor of Medicine, Division of General Medicine & Clinical Epidemiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Osteoarthritis ResearchKelli Allen, PhD
Professor of Medicine, Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology
Co-director of Methodology Core for Multi-disciplinary Clinical Research Center
Research Health Scientist, Durham VA Medical Center
PharmacyTina H. Thornhill, PharmD, FASCP, BCGP
Associate Professor; Vice Chair for Experiential & Professional Education
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Science
Physical TherapyDaniel Pinto, PT, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Therapy, College of Health Sciences, Marquette University
OAAA Workgroup Member

Yvonne M. Golightly, PT, MS, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
RheumatologyM. Elaine Husni, MD, MPH
Director, Arthritis & Musculoskeletal Treatment Center, Cleveland Clinic
OAAA Workgroup Member
Osteoarthritis Action Alliance (OAAA)
Amanda E. Nelson, MD, MSCR, RhMSUS
Medical Advisor, OAAA
Associate Professor Medicine, Division of Rheumatology, Allergy, and Immunology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Leigh Callahan, PhD
Mary Link Briggs Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Associate Director, Thurston Arthritis Research Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Director, OAAA

Celena Adams-Locke, MHA
Program Assistant, OAAA

Allison Albright, MPH, CHES
Communications Manager, OAAA

Mary Altpeter, PhD
AAEBI Program Manager, OAAA

Kirsten Ambrose, MS, CCRC
Program Manager, OAAA

Betsy Hackney
Program Assistant, OAAA

Katie Huffman, MA
Program Assistant, OAAA

Serena Weisner, MS
Program Assistant, OAAA